• Pound Lane
  • Pound Lane
  • Pound Lane
  • Pound Lane
  • Pound Lane
  • Pound Lane

Sheung Wan Pound Lane

FAQ

Q1. What are the reasons for constructing the escalator system at Pound Lane?

The Mid-levels of Central and Western District is a well-developed area. There is very limited space for building new roads or carrying out road and junction widening works. In general, the roads in the Mid-levels area are busy and narrow. Traffic is congested during peak hours. In recent years, the Central and Western District Council (C&WDC) and the local residents requested the Government to construct the second hillside escalator from Central to Mid-levels to provide a comfortable and convenient route for pedestrians travelling between Sheung Wan and Mid-levels.  The C&WDC considered that the provision of escalators would encourage the public to walk.

The Government presented to the Legislative Council Panel on Transport earlier some proposals on “hillside escalator links and elevator systems”, including an escalator link at Ladder Street, which was proposed by C&WDC. The proposal was proceeded to the preliminary technical feasibility study (TFS).

Ladder Street is a Grade 1 Historic Building. Hence, the heritage impact due to the construction of the hillside escalator was first assessed during the preliminary TFS. Comments from Antiquities and Monuments Office (AMO) were sought. If the proposed escalator link is to be built along Ladder Street, it will require demolition of about half of the width of the stone stairs along the street for the installation of escalators. The remaining half will also be affected to facilitate utilities diversion. That will impose adverse impact on the preservation of Ladder Street as a Grade 1 Historic Building. Therefore, other alternative alignments in its vicinity have to be investigated.

After assessing other possible alternative alignments, including Shing Wong Street and Pound Lane, it was found that the alignment along Pound Lane would serve a larger residential area and more residents with less duplication with the existing escalator facilities. Also, there would be less impact on the existing historical buildings in the area. Hence, the alignment along Pound Lane was chosen for further preliminary TFS. The findings and recommendations of the preliminary TFS were reported to C&WDC in July 2011. The C&WDC supported the proposed Pound Lane escalator.

Hence, Highways Department is now carrying out detailed investigation for the proposal.

Q2. How is the set up of the proposed Pound Lane escalator?

The proposed Pound Lane escalator consists of several covered one-way escalators, starting upslope from Tai Ping Shan Street and ending at Bonham Road.  There will be a footbridge to be constructed spanning across Hospital Road to enable the escalator to end at Bonham Road.  Stairlifts to serve wheelchair users will be provided along the route of the escalators.  Highways Department conducted a series of consultation exercises for the proposed escalator from 4 July 2013 to 3 September 2013. The scheme was then refined after taking into account the public views received.  The preliminary refined scheme is as shown below.

 

Q3. How many views did you receive during the public consultation held in July-September 2013?  What are the key concerns of the public?

During the two-month public consultation period, we received about 5,000 public views.  In summary, both supporting and opposing views to the project are of considerable amounts and of similar order.  The concerns of the public are mainly on the project need, usage volume, consideration of alternative alignment, environmental & heritage preservation, community impact and cost.

Q4. What are the changes to the escalator scheme following the public consultation in 2013?

After considering the public views, we propose to refine the following aspects of the original scheme:

(i) Delete the lower half portion of the proposed escalator which is within the boundary of the Pound Lane Public Toilet and narrow a section of the stairway between the female toilet entrance and Po Yee Street to make way for the upper half portion of the escalator.  This change can avoid the demolition and reconstruction of Pound Lane Public Toilet and the potential impact on Kwong Fook I Tsz;

(ii) Remove the parapet wall of the existing stairway beside Fook Chak House to make way for the escalator.  This change can avoid alteration of the existing retaining wall of Blake Garden;

(iii) Relocate the turnaround facility originally proposed to fall within Blake Garden to Upper Station Street.  This change can avoid occupying land of Blake Garden, felling of trees within the garden and adverse impact on an old and valuable tree; and

(iv) Turn the existing slope on the east of the stairway beside the Bonham Road Rest Garden into a garden to make up for the loss of Bonham Road Rest Garden.

Q5. What are the benefits of constructing the Pound Lane escalator?

The Pound Lane escalator will provide a comfortable and convenient route for pedestrians travelling between Sheung Wan and Mid-levels.  It will hence encourage pedestrians to access the hillside area on foot and help relieve pressure on public transport demand in the Mid-levels. Besides, the Pound Lane escalator will help local residents (especially the elderly and the visitors to the Tung Wah Hospital) to commute along Pound Lane.

Q6. At present, there are many beautiful trees along Pound Lane, including two Old and Valuable Trees (OVT) on the OVT register under Leisure and Cultural Services Department.  Will the Pound Lane escalator affect these trees? How will the design of the Pound Lane escalator accommodate the nearby trees?

Highways Department has conducted a tree impact assessment on the existing trees within the project boundary.  There are two OVTs along Pound Lane, which are on the OVT register under Leisure and Cultural Services Department.  One of the OVTs (No. LCSD CW/34) is located in Blake Garden opposite Tai Hing Building  and the other (No. ArchSD CW/5) is the wall tree located opposite the Pound Lane Public Toilet.  In the preliminary refined scheme, the proposed escalator has avoided these OVTs and sited some distance away.

 

Apart from these OVTs, we minimized the number of nearby trees to be affected in refining the alignment of the escalator.  For example, the proposed turnaround facility originally located within Blake Garden is relocated to Upper Station Street under the preliminary refined scheme.  This arrangement avoids felling trees within Blake Garden.  There are still 5 trees currently located at Bonham Road, Hospital Road and Pound Lane and they will be affected.  We propose to transplant these 5 trees to other suitable locations.

 

 

OVT (No. LCSD CW/34)                          OVT (No. ArchSD CW/5)

Two OVTs located at Blake Garden opposite Tai Hing Building and located opposite the Pound Lane Public Toilet will not be affected.

 

 

Trees at the slope on the east of the stairway beside Bonham Road Rest Garden will be affected

 

 

Trees at Pound Lane will be affected

 

Q7. The backyard of No. 4 Hospital Road (currently Centre for Food Safety) is a Grade 2 Historic Building, is it really necessary to acquire and convert it to pedestrian crossing facilities?

Due to geographical constraints on width, the proposed Pound Lane escalator is a one-way escalator system.  For pedestrians travelling in the opposite direction, they will rely on the pedestrian stairway between Bonham Road and Hospital Road.  As the stairway is located at the bend of the carriageway, the sightline is obstructed by existing structures.  To improve road safety, parts of the boundary wall at No. 4 Hospital Road may have to be demolished and shifted backward.  Then, part of the backyard of the Centre for Food Safety will be converted to pedestrian use.

We are now exploring an alternative arrangement such that the boundary wall of the Building at No.4 Hospital Road would not be affected.

Q8.Will the Pound Lane escalator have any impact on the Pound Lane Public Toilet?

Under the original scheme, demolition and reconstruction of the Pound Lane Public Toilet were required to make room for the construction of two flights of escalators.  During the public consultation in 2013, objections to the demolition of Pound Lane Public Toilet were received. The public considered that the toilet is part of the Tai Ping Shan Medical Heritage Trail and has historical value, and so should be preserved.  In view of the above, the original scheme was refined to avoid demolition of the Pound Lane Public Toilet by deleting the lower flight of the proposed escalator which is within the toilet boundary and narrowing a section of the stairway between the female toilet entrance and Po Yee Street to make way for the upper flight of the escalator.  However, modification of the male toilet entrance of the Pound Lane Public Toilet is unavoidable. The male toilet entrance will be re-provided at Po Yee Street and the existing male toilet entrance will be permanently closed.

Q9.What are the external features of the design of tthe proposed Pound Lane escalator?

Design of the proposed Pound Lane escalator will be based on the characteristics  of Pound Lane and will blend in with its existing environment. The project will also enhance greening of surroundings, allowing members of the public to enjoy weatherproof travelling under a more comfortable environment.

Q10.What is the estimated cost of the proposed Pound Lane escalator and when will it start?

Highways Department is now arranging a public forum to further consult the public on the preliminary refined scheme and the way forward for the project.  We still remain open to the development of the project and hence there are no implementation programme and project estimate available yet. If the preliminary refined scheme is supported by the public, we will proceed to take forward the project according to established procedures.

• Pound Lane
  • Pound Lane
  • Pound Lane
  • Pound Lane
  • Pound Lane
  • Pound Lane

上环磅巷

常见问题

Q1. 为何选址磅巷兴建扶手电梯?

中西区内的半山区,已发展多年,区内路窄车多,交通繁忙。由于路旁物业已充分发展,所余空间有限,进行大型道路或路口扩阔工程的可行性不高。近年来,中西区区议会及当区居民不时向政府当局提出要求兴建第二条中环往半山行人扶手电梯,以提供一条舒适方便的行人通道连接半山区及中上环,从而鼓励市民步行。

政府当局于较早前向立法会交通事务委员会提交上坡自动扶梯或升降机的建议,其中包括由中西区区议会提出的「上环楼梯街自动行人扶梯」。及后,为有关建议进行初步技术可行性研究。

由于楼梯街属一级历史建筑,因此我们在初步技术可行性研究中,首先评估在楼梯街兴建扶手电梯对历史保育的影响,并谘询古物古迹办事处的意见。若在楼梯街兴建扶手电梯,需要拆除近半阔度的石梯级及在余下的梯级进行地下设施的改道工程,这会对楼梯街的历史保育造成不良影响。因此,我们有需要在楼梯街附近找寻兴建扶手电梯的替代路线。

经评估其他可行的替代路线,包括城皇街和磅巷后,初步研究指出磅巷的替代路线可涵盖较大的住宅区域及服务较多市民,同时与现有同类设施在功能上较少重叠,亦对区内的历史建筑物影响亦较少。因此,磅巷路线被选作进行初步技术可行性研究,而有关初步技术可行性研究的结果于2011年7月向中西区区议会汇报,并获得区议会的支持。

因此,现时路政署正为磅巷扶手电梯作进一步研究。

Q2. 拟议的磅巷扶手电梯项目的装置是怎样的?

拟议的磅巷扶手电梯的初步概念设计,是在太平山街和般咸道之间的一段磅巷,设置多部单向有盖的行人扶手电梯,由于该扶手电梯上游终点设于般咸道,我们亦需设置一条行人天桥,跨越医院道至般咸道。扶手电梯沿线亦会加设轮椅升降台,以供轮椅使用者使用。路政署于2013年7月4日至2013年9月3日期间,就拟议的扶手电梯进行了一系列的谘询活动。经考虑收到的公众意见后,我们对拟议方案作出优化。初步优化方案如下图。

Q3. 路政署在2013年7-9月的谘询期间收到了多少意见? 公众主要的关注为何?

在为期两个多月的公众谘询期间,我们收集到约5000 份公众意见。整体而言,支持和反对项目推展的意见各有相当数量及大致相若。而公众关注的事项主要涉及项目的需要、使用量、替代路线的考虑、环境影响、文物保育、社区影响及造价等。

Q4. 2013年的公众谘询后,扶手电梯的方案作出那些修改?

经考虑公众的意见后,我们建议对原本方案作出以下优化:

(i) 删减原建议建于磅巷公厕范围内的扶手电梯的下半段,及把由女厕入口至普义街的一段磅巷楼梯收窄以腾出空间来容纳扶手电梯的上半段,此改动可避免拆建磅巷公厕及对广福义祠的潜在影响;

(ii) 移除福泽楼旁边现有楼梯矮墙以腾出空间来容纳扶手电梯, 此改动可避免改建卜公花园现有的挡土墙;

(iii) 把原建议设于卜公花园内的车辆掉头设施改设于差馆上街,此改动可避免占用花园空间、砍伐花园内树木及影响古树; 及

(iv) 把般咸道休憩花园旁楼梯东面对出的斜坡改建成花园,此改动可弥补失去的般咸道休憩花园。

Q5. 兴建磅巷扶手电梯有何好处?

磅巷扶手电梯能为市民提供一条舒适方便的行人通道往返半山区及中上环,从而鼓励市民步行和有助纾缓半山区的公共交通需求压力。此外,磅巷扶手电梯能方便区内居民之外,还可以照顾长者和往返东华医院的访客等。

Q6. 现时磅巷沿途有很多漂亮的树木, 包括两棵属于康乐及文化事务署《古树名木册》内的古树。 这些树木会否受到磅巷扶手电梯的影响? 扶手电梯的设计又会如何尽量迁就沿途的树木?

路政署已对项目范围内的树木进行了树木影响评估。磅巷沿途共有两棵属于康乐及文化事务署《古树名木册》内的古树。它们分别是位于卜公花园 (编号为LCSD CW/34) 内面对太庆大厦及位于磅巷公厕对面的一棵墙树 (编号为ArchSD CW/5)。在初步优化方案中,磅巷扶手电梯的位置已避开及远离这些古树。

除了这些古树外,我们在优化扶手电梯的走线时减小受影响树木的数量。例如,原建议在卜公花园设置的车辆掉头设施,在优化方案中已搬迁到差馆上街。此安排避免了砍伐卜公花园的树木。5棵分别位于医院道,般咸道及磅巷的树木仍会受到影响, 我们建议移植这5棵树木至其他合适的位置。

 

 

古树 (编号为LCSD CW/34)                     古树 (编号为ArchSD CW/5)

两棵位于卜公花园内面对太庆大厦及位于磅巷公厕对面的古树将不会受到影响。

 

 

般咸道休憩花园旁楼梯东面的斜坡上的树木将会受影响

 

 

磅巷的树木将会受影响

 

Q7.现有的医院道四号(即食物安全中心)是二级历史建筑物,是否有必要征用它的部份后院以转变为行人路?

因应地理环境限制阔度,拟议的磅巷扶手电梯系统将会是单向设计,往相反方向的行人需使用连接般咸道和医院道之间的楼梯。由于有关楼梯处于行车道的转弯位置,视线受物业阻碍。为确保道路安全,故可能需要拆除及后移部份医院道四号的围墙,以将该处部分后院改予行人使用,

我们正在探讨一个替代方案以避免影响医院道四号的围墙。

Q8.磅巷扶手电梯工程会否为磅巷公厕带来影响?

在原本方案中, 磅巷公厕需要被拆卸及重置以腾出空间作为兴建两部扶手电梯之用。在2013年的公众谘询期间,我们收到公众人士的意见认为磅巷公厕属于太平山医疗文物径一部份并具历史价值,所以应该予以保留。有见及此,经考虑公众的意见及审视原本方案后,我们对原本方案作出适当改动及优化,包括删减拟建于公厕范围内的下半段扶手电梯及把介乎于女厕入口与普义街的一段磅巷楼梯收窄以腾出空间来容纳该段扶手电梯的上半段,以避免拆卸及重置磅巷公厕。但是,磅巷公厕的男厕入口仍需要修改。 拟议的男厕入口将会重设在普义街一侧,而现有的男厕入口将会永久关闭。

拟议的男厕入口将会重设在普义街一侧

Q9.拟议的磅巷扶手电梯的外观设计有何特色? 

拟议的磅巷扶手电梯的外观设计将会以磅巷的特色作为依归,尽量将设计融入现时的环境。此项目亦会绿化四周,让居民可以在较舒适环境和不受风雨影响的情况之下上西半山。

Q10.拟议的磅巷扶手电梯工程造价为何及何时开展?

路政署将举办公众论坛就初步优化方案进一步谘询公众,为本项目的未来寻求路向。我们对于本项目的未来发展仍采取开放的态度。因此我们尚未为项目制定时间表及造价。若此初步优化方案获得公众的支持,我们将继续以既定的程序开展项目。